Category Archives: Election

Meet the Gubernatorial Candidates

These are free public events and all are welcome.

The DWC is co-sponsoring or helping to publicize these events. We have not yet made an endorsement for Governor.

Meet and Greet Gavin Newsom

Saturday, December 9th
11:30am at the SCPD Community Room
155 Center St Santa Cruz

Meet and Greet Antonio Villaraigosa

Wednesday, December 13th
Hosted by Fred & Barbara Keeley at their home
121 Market St, Santa Cruz

We will announce additional events as they are scheduled.

California Secretary of Natural Resources John Laird to speak on California Propositions

The Democratic Women’s Club is hosting a program with California Secretary of Natural Resources, John Laird.

It will be held Saturday, September 17, at Louden Nelson Community Center, 301 Center Street, Santa Cruz.

Secretary Laird will speak on the California November ballot propositions. There are 17 propositions on the ballot. Secretary Laird has the history and perspective to shed light on a subject that can be very confusing to many people.

Doors open 10 am. Program begins at 10:30 am.
Co-sponsored by the People’s Democratic Club, The Santa Cruz County Democratic Party, and the Crosson North County Democratic Club.

DWC makes endorsements for November ballot

At its electoral forum on August 27, the Democratic Women’s Club of Santa Cruz County endorsed the following local ballot measure and candidates for the November 2016 election:

Measure D (Transportation Measure): Yes

Santa Cruz City Council: (pictured above) Cynthia Mathews, J.M. Brown, Martine Watkins, and Robert Singleton

Scotts Valley City Council: Jack Dilles and Rosanna Herrera

Capitola City Council: Kristen Peterson

Watsonville City Council: District 2: Oscar Rios; District 6: Doreen Martine

Santa Cruz Port District Commission: Darren Gertler, Stephen Reed, and Denny Smith

The Yes on Transportation Measure D Campaign and the endorsed candidates will receive financial support and volunteer campaign workers from the DWC.

Mark your calendar for these upcoming presentations:

Saturday, September 17
John Laird, California Secretary of Natural Resources
Louden Nelson Center, 301 Center Street, Santa Cruz
10 a.m. social, 10:30 a.m. program
What’s It About: An Overview of the 17 California Ballot Measures on the November 8 Ballot

Saturday, October 15
Getting To Green: Community Choice Energy Explained
Police Community Room, 155 Center Street, Santa Cruz
10 a.m. social, 10:30 a.m. program
What’s It About: Monterey Bay Community Power, a CCE project, is under consideration by jurisdictions in Santa Cruz County. Come hear about this exciting opportunity to offer local choice about our energy portfolio and increase our purchase of renewable power.


DWC Endorses Measure S!

Measure S: Our Librariaries, Our FutureThe DWC endorsed Measure S at our March 19th endorsement meeting. Measure S is a revenue measure to provide funding to refurbish our library system. Now we have a chance to pitch in and get it passed. Learn more about it at

The yard signs are here and we are looking for locations throughout the county. If you have a spot where they will have good visibility would you contact Carol Fuller at Be sure to include your address. If you can find another location or two with friends or family. Please let me know, and of course, I need name and address.

Thank you,
Carol Fuller, 2015–2016 DWC President

DWC endorsements for June 7 Primary Election

The DWC membership met March 19 to make endorsements of local candidates and measures on the June 7 Primary Election Ballot. The endorsements are:

Santa Cruz County Supervisor 1st District: John LeopoldDemocratic Women's Club of Santa Cruz County logo
Santa Cruz County Supervisor 2nd District: Zach Friend
California Assembly 29th District: Karina Cervantez Alejo
California Assembly 30th District: Mark Stone
California Senate 17th District: Bill Monning
U.S. House of Representatives, CA 20th District: Jimmy Panetta
Measure S (Library Facilities Parcel Tax): Yes
Measure Q (Cabrillo College Parcel Tax): Yes
Santa Cruz County District Attorney: Jeff Rosell

Congratulations to the endorsed candidates. Learn more about the June 7 election by visiting the Santa Cruz County Elections Department.